Prep for final Performance

by oliverstobie

For my final performance, I have decided to use my own, original script rather than working from someone else’s work. 

My performance will revolve around the story of how I believe to have gained my stammer; looking back I can’t actually confirm how I got my stammer (I’ve had it as long as I can remember) but I do believe that they’re a few correlations between events that happened in my life and it leading up to my stammer:

Poster – I remember when I was around 4 years old there was a poster advertising stammer; the poster consisted of a boy stuttering to his mother about going to the park, I would walk by this poster almost everyday, reading it everyday must have had a strong connection to what occurred later on in my life.

Ulcerative Colitis – When I was around this age I was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis, this illness has a very strong connection to stress and a weak immune system. Although I have no memory of being immensely stressed at all, I can’t help but think that there is a link between the two.

My best friend leaving – My best friend moved away shortly around this time as well, this caused quite a bit of stress more me as we were inseparable as that age. 

These events are all going to be parts of my performance as well as dealing with it on a daily life, along with sessions of speech therapy and other methods of preventing stammer. Later things to plan will need to be, the layout of my performance and any costume/makeup ideas.

